THE SIN EATER’S DAUGHTER

The-Sin-Eaters-Daughter.jpg

AUTHOR- Melinda Salisbury

PUBLISHER- Scholastic Corporation

GOODREADS RATING- 3.48/5

GENRE- Young Adult Fantasy

PUBLISHED- February 5th, 2015

It’s difficult to grieve for an idea.

ABOUT THE BOOK: Sixteen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, no one speaks to her. No one even looks at her. Because Twylla isn’t a member of the court. She’s the executioner.As the goddess-embodied, Twylla kills with a single touch. So each week, she’s taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love her. Who could care for a girl with murder in her veins? Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to her touch, avoids her.But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose playful smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he’s able to look past Twylla’s executioner robes and see the girl, not the goddess. Yet a treasonous romance is the least of Twylla’s problems. The queen has a plan to destroy her enemies-a plan that requires an unthinkable sacrifice. Will Twylla do what it takes to protect her kingdom? Or will she abandon her duty in favor of a doomed love?

MY REVIEW: I did not like this book very much. When I started reading this book, my first thought on it was- Is this a copy of Shatter me? I mean, seriously, lethal touch? All the while reading, I kept on comparing the similarities between the two books. I also think some of the ideas were quite illogical while some were really unique. I specially liked the idea of comparing democracy and monarchy in the book between  the kingdoms of Lormere and Tregellan. I also liked the idea of mythological story of Daunen Embodied and the book could have a much better plot if it remained truth. On the other hand, there were so many things which made no sense… Why was there only one Tregellian in the whole Kingdom? I specially hated Leif… It irked me so much, he being so nice and funny. Why? To be honest I didn’t like him for a slightest second. I got so annoyed when the ended up together and I was seriously thinking at least Adam(from Shatter Me) wasn’t like Leif. And, I do think that the description of the characters could have been better. Twylla was to be portrayed as a strong protagonist but I didn’t see it happening. My thoughts on Leif are already clear while I do think that Merek (the prince) was displayed quite nicely. But I still think that it could have been better. The only character I actually liked was the Queen. I DO NOT CARE if she is an evil bitch, I think her character development was the best, a lot better than the three main characters’. The King of Lormere  didn’t even look like a king, he looked more like a pet. I feel if the book included more about the world outside the castle, it could have been better. I really wanted something of the outside world. The plot was really slow and boring, everything was predictable and lacked twists and turns. I think the book could have been written much better. I would give it 3 stars, that too because of the queen.

(THESE REVIEWS ARE MY POINT OF VIEWS, AND YOUR OPINIONS MIGHT BE VARYING FROM MINE)

Sincerely,

Reader.

xxx

Amazon Link

Melinda Salisbury

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

