THE WRATH AND THE DAWN

TheWrathAndTheDawnCover

AUTHOR- Renée Ahdieh

PUBLISHER- G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

GOODREADS RATING- 4.22/5

GENRE- Young Adult Fantasy

PUBLISHED- May 12th, 2015

I love you, a thousand times over. And I will never apologize for it.

ABOUT THE BOOK: In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.
Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

MY REVIEW: This novel is a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights, and was basically a romantic young adult dystopia. I really liked this novel but then there were some parts that disappointed me. First of all, I think the book was supposed to portray GRADUAL change in Sharzad’s feelings for Khalid, from hate to love. However, it seemed more of instalove. I also didn’t understand how Sharzad could tell him stories and then the new day began and he wouldn’t kill her. I mean, how come Khalid, who is all about intelligence and strength, not understand that she is fooling him. And obviously, it couldn’t have been that easy to survive when everyone before you actually died. Also, this idea made Sharzad seem a little bit too overconfident. But then, when this story proceeded, we all got completely engrossed in it. I specially loved how we got to know more about Khalid. And I do agree some parts of this book ruled our hearts. The character development of most of the characters was really good. I also think the writing was amazing and you’re going to love it. Overall, I think this book was really good but still could have been better. I’ll give it- 3.5/5

(THESE REVIEWS ARE MY POINT OF VIEWS, AND YOUR OPINIONS MIGHT BE VARYING FROM MINE)

Sincerely,

Reader.

xxx

Amazon Link

Renee Ahdieh

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jasmine says:

    Great review! I also didn’t rate high for this book. I liked the story she told to him more than the book haha.. And you’re right, if she supposed to be hating him, there shouldn’t be that instalove there.. I also didn’t like how confined this book is.. all the actions are in her bedroom.. I have yet to read book 2.

    Like

    1. Aditi17 says:

      I am glad you liked it. But tbh, I didn’t like the second book much either. But anyways, I’ll love to discuss the second book with you.. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

