Wintersong: My Views

wp-image-823121945jpg.jpg

AUTHOR- S. Jae- Jones

PUBLISHER- Thomas Dunne Books

GOODREADS RATING- 3.69/5

GENRE- Young Adult, Fantasy

BOOK PUBLISHED- February 7th, 2017

What’s the use of running, if we are on the wrong road.

ABOUT THE BOOK: The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…
All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.
But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds—and the mysterious man who rules it—she soon faces an impossible decision. And with time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

MY REVIEW: So I received this book from Illumicrate February Book Subscription Box. It seemed so interesting and I got on to reading it.

*No Major Spoilers*

First of all, I really liked this book after reading the blurb. It seemed like a fairytale, apart from the fact that it had a sad ending. So yeah…

Stuff happens and she gets stuck with the Goblin King after saving her sister. This book was so much like the beauty and the beast, and tbh it disappointed me.
Elizabeth is a girl whose life exists in her music. She loves to play and create music. But it goes unrecognised by everyone except for the Goblin King. She is beautiful from inside which she fails to see. Story goes on and reaches a point where we don’t know what to expect. That is something I loved about the book. It remains mysterious till the very end and you don’t have any idea what to expect.

Goblin King. He is supposedly the Lord of Mischief, but to me he was everything but that (and not in a good way…). He seemed way too boring to be the Lord of Mischief. There was nothing about him that actually attracted me apart from the fact that he played violin beautifully. Also, even though we get to know a lot about him through the book, some parts of him still remained a mystery till the end.

I loved the way how both of them fall in love and the story develops but it gets slower and slower in the end. Apart from that, I really loved how Liesel’s family was portrayed. It seemed so real and normal, and it played a major role in the story.

I loved this book in the starting, it was addictive and beautifully written. It had all the aspects of fun, enchantment and magic. The poetic touches to this book actually made it feel like a fairytale. This book started with a great pace and amazing character development but it eventually slowed down and became monotonous as I reached Part IV. The sad end worsened it. I wish, it could have got a better ending.

I’ll give it 3.5/5. ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

(THESE REVIEWS ARE MY POINT OF VIEWS, AND YOUR OPINIONS MIGHT BE VARYING FROM MINE)

Sincerely,

Reader.

xxx

S. Jae-Jones Official Website

Buy it here

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh that’s a shame about the ending… I’ve heard mixed reviews about this one but I really want to try it 🙂
    Great review, Aditi!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aditi17 says:

      You should… I’ll love to discuss the book with you! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Oh, me too! ❤
      I'll see if I can fit it in in the near future, there's just so little time to read everything I want :/

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I also reviewed it …
    Check out my review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aditi17 says:

      It was nice!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

