13 Reasons Why: Book Adaptation

Image result for 13 reasons why

AUTHOR- Jay Asher

PUBLISHER- Penguin Books

GOODREADS RATING- 4.05/5

GENRE- Young Adult

BOOK PUBLISHED- October 18th, 2007

A flood of emotions rushes into me. Pain and anger. Sadness and pity. But most surprising of all, hope.

ABOUT THE BOOK: I think you must have gotten to know a lot about the book after seeing the trailer. Just in case you haven’t seen the trailer yet, this book is about a new girl in town named Hannah. In the start, everything seemed cool but eventually she faces a lot of troubles. She commits suicide and records tapes telling why she committed suicide. These tapes are sent to 13 people who were the reasons of Hannah’s death, and they are supposed to read it and give it to the next person in the list. Through the tapes we get to know more about Hannah Baker and the 13 Reasons why she committed suicide.

Image result for 13 reasons why quotes

My Views: I read this book 2 years ago and was obsessed with it for a long long time and was really happy when I realised that it is turning into  a Netflix Show. I had loved the book. It was so unique and heart touching. The writing was modest and the storyline seemed so real and nice. The author kept the pace in check and every single chapter of the book had left me awestruck. I had felt so many nuances of emotions and feelings while reading this book. And most of all, this book taught me so many things. I mean, the real life learnings, which we sometimes in our arrogance or ignorance forget and how much are actions can impact others life. I really liked this book. I’ll give it 4/5. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Image result for 13 reasons why quotes

Image result for 13 reasons why show

About the Show: The show is amazing and I don’t actually think I have ever said that for a book adaptation. I hate movies and shows based on books, they spoil everything. But, this particular show is an exception. It was wonderfully directed by Tom McCarthy and I loved it.  Selena Gomez is one of the executive producers along with Michael Sugar, the producer of the film Collateral Beauty. The cast includes Dylan Minnette as Clay Jenson and Katherine Langford as Hannah. This show was truly amazing and I recommend it to you all.

Watch the trailer here: 13 Reasons Why Trailer.
Visit Jay Asher and 13 Reasons Why Official Site (You can here the original tapes on the official site).

 

Image result for 13 reasons why

(THESE REVIEWS ARE MY POINT OF VIEWS, AND YOUR OPINIONS MIGHT BE VARYING FROM MINE)

Sincerely,

Reader.

xxx

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve been seeing this one everywhere now, and I have to say I’m a bit curious. Not sure if it’s something I’d go for but I might try it anyway 🙂
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aditi17 says:

      It’s good apart from some changes..

      Liked by 1 person

  2. yaykisspurr says:

    Changes in the story are almost always irritating but I still enjoy checking out adapted books when they hit the screen… I appreciate that the producers had a vision that may or may not mesh with my own. Thanks for sharing that this is available! Sounds like a strong read, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aditi17 says:

    I am glad it was helpful! 😀

    Like

  4. Finally managed to view you page lol. Totally agree that most shows/ movies after a book ruin it… but I love the 13rw show just as much as the book!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I honestly also prefer the TV series than the book, Aditi and that rarely happens to me. I appreciate the series’ fixation on the effects of bullying and how it decided to stretch the plot making the time frame longer than that in the book. In the book, it felt like Hannah was just trying to be vengeful and really selfish but in the series, the reasons are somehow more detailed and more justified not that I approve of her suicide. I still think what she did was very selfish but the series highlighted the snowball effects of little things people do or don’t do resulting to a person’s depression.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aditi17 says:

      Yeah, I totally agree with you, even though some changes disappointed me, I think the show did a much better job in bringing out more of Clay’s, Hannah’s and everyone else’s characters. I loved the fact that Hannah’s parents were included in the show and the tapes were released in the end. The show actually made us feel she went through, and what was still happening with Skye, which I guess left a big impact on everyone’s heart. I guess, after watching this show, everyone around me is a quiet shaken..

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Actually, I’m still halfway through the show but I’ve heard the last few episodes are gut wrenching. Yikes.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Aditi17 says:

      Yea.. They are.. ( umm.. Sorry for the spoilers)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lol! I don’t mind, Aditi. I’ve read the book anyway. Haha

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Richard Due says:

    I thought it was an incredibly strong adaptation. The book is so compelling that one might think the show runners couldn’t mess it up. But adaptations can be very tricky, even with great source material.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aditi17 says:

      Richard, I somehow think even with the changes, the show actually turned out to be pretty good! Thank you for you views! ❤❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

