King’s Cage (Red Queen #3)

Related image
Rating: 3.5/5

AUTHOR- Victoria Aveyard

PUBLISHER- HarperCollins

GOODREADS RATING- 4.08/5

GENRE- Young Adult Fantasy

PUBLISHED- February 7th, 2017

Those who know what it’s like in the dark will do anything to stay in the light.

Red Queen: Red Queen #1 Review

Glass Sword: Red Queen #2 Review

ABOUT THIS BOOK: Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.
As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.
When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

MY REVIEW:  This book was a disappointment to the series.

I think this book wasn’t such a great read. The plot development of Red Queen was missing as well as the thrill at the end of Glass Sword wasn’t there either. I remember how crazy I was to read the sequels of the first two book, but now it’s just gone. Also, I went on a book slump mid-way through this book. My reading buddy started reading it too so I had to finish it so we could discuss. And more or less we had the same opinions.

*SPOILERS*

Okay, I had so many expectations from this book. And it didn’t seem to meet them.

First of all, Victoria Aveyard changed all the characters. The character development came crashing down the hill in this book, everyone got worse. Mare, she was one of the most amazing and strongest protagonists in YA. Her character development was outstanding in the first book, but after that it got worse and worse. I don’t understand why Victoria Aveyard is so keen on making everyone’s beloved Mare a bitch?? First of all, Mare planning to use Maven’s emotions and then betraying Cal. I know Maven deserves that shit (at least that’s what people think) but no, at least he makes a better king than Cal. And then in the end, how can she do that to Cal, I mean come on bitch, YOU need to choose a side first.

Image result for bitch meme
Me when Mare kind of betrayed Cal. And I don’t like Cal very much.

Moving on to Maven, he was never like this. He was supposed to be evil and strong, but that too got ruined. Maven is my favorite character but then he got turned into a cry-baby. I mean that crying shit when Mare spitefully said “she’ll die too” was way to emotional, I really like it. But wait, that is not Maven. Maven’s portrayal lost its pace. It seemed Victoria Aveyard was trying to show him as a better person, and we did see that in the book. We loved him, but then it is not how all that was supposed to happen.

Apart from that,  a good edition to this book was we got to witness Maven’s planning and working as a King. It was amazingly written and was majestic. I think Victoria Aveyard put a lot of effort to show us what she meant by Maven being smarter in the initial book. Through this, I got to know more about not only Maven but also Cal. I could finally compare the two brothers with surety and evidence.

Now, it’s Cal turn. It seems as if his ship had stopped sailing long ago. I mean, NO CHANGE from the last book. He might have confessed his feelings about Mare, but he is still one stupid person in the book who doesn’t know anything. While reading Glass Sword, I had thought that Cal was trying to be in the shadows because he was secretly planning something and would probably betray Mare in the end but NEWS FLASH, he is literally a depressed Silver. That Evangeline chapter where Anabel enters into the book, I smiled because I thought there is gonna be some chances of betrayal from Cal and he finally might come out of that sad character, but no he is completely honest and boring. Also, Nanabel made me cringe.

Image result for boring meme
Me while thinking about Cal.

Evangeline, she was the one person I hoped wouldn’t change. But everyone in this installment had to turn fucking good. I mean one of the main reason why everyone was crazy about this series was of the amazing plot twist AKA Maven’s BETRAYAL. All that has disappeared now. I can’t even pretend to like the nice version of her. Otherwise, her being gay was I think a good addition to the book because it added diversity.

I liked Iris because of the simple fact that at she’s a new character in this book and she likes Maven. The way she was portrayed was neither too cringy nor too boring. Also, finallyyyyy Kilorn moved on with his life. I am happy for him.

Image result for moved on meme
King’s Cage: Kilorn in a nutshell.

I wish this book could have been better. I’ll give it 3.5/5 in the hope that the next book would be better. ⭐⭐⭐🌠

Also, I would like to share a little theory I have for the series. It was clear in this book that Victoria Aveyard was trying to bring out Maven’s character as a smarter King that Cal. We already know that Cal is stronger than Maven. So, I feel in the next book when Maven and Cal will face each other, I think Maven has better odds of winning. Also, I feel Cal could never become a king as good as Maven. So even if he wins, he’ll most likely be controlled either by the Scarlet Gaurd or he’ll completely turn a blind eye to the Reds. However, Maven’s sharp wisdom, can maybe help him keep good relations with Scarlet Gaurd as well as the Reds with Silver support on his back.

(THESE REVIEWS ARE MY POINT OF VIEWS, AND YOUR OPINIONS MIGHT BE VARYING FROM MINE)

Sincerely,

Reader.

xxx

Victoria Aveyard

But it on Amazon.

Previous Post: Some Crazy Ya News! latest news of YA. A Court of Wings and Ruin excerpt, Shatter Me Series to be continued, Immortal Reign excerpt, Wintersong sequel release date reveled, ToG #6 name revealed and much more! You don’t wanna miss it.

I was recently nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by We Are Become Readers, so I’ll be posting that soon!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑