Truth or Dare by Non Pratt (Spoiler Free)

on

5 Stars

AUTHOR- Non Pratt

PUBLISHER- Walker Books

GOODREADS RATING- 4.57/5

GENRE- YA Contemporary Fiction, Romance

PUBLISHED- June 1st, 2017

I’ve finally found a dare I’m more scared of than the truth and the discovery has unlocked me.

ABOUT THE BOOK: A powerful and moving novel about bravery from the Guardian’s “writer to watch” Non Pratt, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Holly Bourne. How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you’re willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose?

MY REVIEW: I am in my car right now, coming back from a family trip, reviewing this book because I couldn’t stop reading it. And now that I have read it, all I want is to talk about it.

*Spoiler free*

First of all, hats off to the author for bringing out such amazing characters through this book. And, for once, those characters from a fictional world seemed real.

The first part is from the POV of Claire aka Truth Girl. She is simple and introvert. Someone, who is real easy to relate with. Has life problems, crushes, dreams, et cetra.

The second part is from Yousef‘s POV aka Dare Boy. He is smart, good-looking and am I missing something..? Oh yes, daring.

This book is about two teenagers, who together start a YouTube channel doing Truths and Dares to collect funds. They want money for Yousef’s brother whose brain got damaged.

Some facts about this book:

  1. If you think contemporary is boring, there are 75% less chances of you getting bored after reading this book.
  2. Unlike a normal contemporary book where an introvert girl falls in love with a super popular guy, this book brings out what teenagers are really like (stupid, unmindful, crazy and adorable).
  3. There was 0% instant love in the book.
  4. The book had the most perfect pace. There was no single point in which I got bored while reading. The story kept moving forward.
  5. I didn’t really anticipate much from the two sides of the story. I only expected a little repetition of the book with slightly different emotions, but the actual plot builds when you start reading the second POV.
  6. What you thought about the characters during the first part of the book completely changes when you read part 2.
  7. Each and every character in the book has been portrayed exceedingly well.
  8. The end is something you didn’t really expect it to be like.
  9. The book might not have the best ending but it is a beautiful one. Something not to expect much from, but which gives hope for future.
  10. I am rating this book: 5/5. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Yours Sincerely,

Reader.

xxx

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s